Our winegrowing area

Terroirs, wines and grape varieties

They belong to the winegrowing heritage of the Rhône Valley
and produce the wines of Clairmont. Discover the region...

WATER AND WINE

the Rhône Valley

The northern area of the Rhône Valley

The winegrowing area bears the name of the river, because it is this geological fold in the earth that sets the tempo, gives it its authenticity and its point of origin. From one bank to the other, its movements are so many indicators to understand the terroirs.
The northern part of the Rhône begins at Saint-Péray, facing Valence and stretches along to Saint-Cyr-sur-le-Rhône opposite Vienne. Although situated on the 45th parallel, it still benefits from a continental climate with cold winters and warm summers.

The climate as a natural ally

The semi-continental climate is influenced slightly by the Mediterranean at this latitude. With a superb amount of annual sunshine, dry, hot summers, cold winters without excessively low temperatures and mod-erate rainfall, the winegrowing area has in these very good weather conditions an ideal, natural ally. The Northerly wind blowing almost constantly in the Rhône Valley dries the air and protects the vine.

On the edge of a fault

During the Miocene era, after the withdrawal of the Mediterranean Sea, the various hollows, jolts and eleva-tions of the Alps pushed the Rhône back towards the Massif Central. It sunk down there and penetrated deeply the granite base in Vienne and to the north of Tain l’Hermitage and, with the Isère River, formed several levels of terraces on the right bank and the plain of Valence. This characteristic landscape was to welcome the vineyards of the Crozes-Hermitage and “Collines Rhodaniennes” appellations.

CLAIRMONT IN THE HEART OF THE WINEGROWING AREA

Since 1972, Clairmont has been firmly established on the left bank of the Rhône, in the town of Beaumont-Monteux, very near Tain-l’Hermitage and close to Valence. Clairmont, a key stakeholder of Crozes-Hermitage, owns 115 hectares in the heart of the appellation situated on the 45th parallel.

beaumont-monteux
carte Crozes-hermitage

Crozes-Hermitage,
the largest

The most immense appellation of the northern Rhône winegrowing area, Crozes-Hermitage covers approxi-mately 1 700 hectares across 11 towns and villages of the left bank. Very closely linked to the history of l’Hermitage, the slopes and terraces of Crozes and neighbours gained their independence in 1937 with the creation of an appellation in its own right and with terroirs clearly identified.

Clairmont, a diversity of terroirs
in Crozes-Hermitage

An essential asset for the distinctive characteristics and diversity of the wines, the 115 hectares owned by Clairmont are located in four distinct geological areas.
A first area is found in the mountainous area of the locality named “Les Chassis”. It lies upon a thick, layer of smooth, rounded pebbles giving good drainage, originating from various periods of the ice age, mixed with red clay.
A second area is found on the very ancient high terraces of the town of Chanos-Curson
A third area, located on the terraces of Beaumont-Monteux, lies upon soil comprised of sandy-clay and allu-vium of ice age origin giving good drainage, with very stony and deeper soils.
A fourth area is found on the granite slopes of the town of Crozes-Hermitage.

Crozes-hermitage la grande

Saint-Joseph,
the elegant of the right bank

From the 14th century up until the time of the French Revolution, this winegrowing area belonged to the Carmelites, priests of the order of Mount-Carmel. The wine’s name probably dates back to this period, a statue of the saint was found on the hillside between Tournon and Mauves.

The appellation begins at Guilherand in Ardèche and stretches to Chavanay in the Loire. In its southern part, it surrounds the wines of Saint-Péray and Cornas. Ruby-coloured, supple and round, Saint-Joseph wines are the dandies of the northern area of the Rhône.

Saint Joseph - l'élégant
carte Saint-Joseph

SYRAH
in majesty

Syrah grape variety

The result of a hybridisation between the Dureza, a former grape variety of the Ardèche region and the Mondeuse Blanche, Syrah finds its origin in this northern part of the Rhône area where the semi-continental climate encourages good ripening, but not to excess. With poor terroirs that provide good drainage, a South-East or South facing position and Northerly wind, all the conditions are combined here for this variety to express all its sumptuousness: a vivid, purple hue, aromas of black fruit and spices and well-structured tan-nins. Syrah produces wines which have a sensation of smooth velvetiness and powerfulness.

Marsanne,
charming and powerful

Marsanne grape variety

Second emblematic grape variety of the Northern area of the Rhône, Marsanne is certainly of local origin. It is firmly rooted in its terroir. In fact, by dint of hard work and patience, the “Allobroges”, a Celtic population established here during the 3rd century B.C., chose it as their variety of vine.
The Marsanne is identified by its characteristic, delicate bitterness. When young, the appeal of its wine lies in its charm and its aromas of dried fruit and flowers. Older wines are impressive for their structure and notes of fruitiness that have developed to notes of dried fruit and honeyed hints.

roussanne,
delicate and fragrant


Roussanne grape variety

Another leading grape variety of the Northern area of the Rhône, its name comes from the reddish colour of its grape berries. Roussanne probably belongs to the varieties of vines chosen by the “Allobroges”, a Celtic population established here during the 3rd century B.C.
Unlike Marsanne, it requires closer observation because of its sensitivity to the risks of weather conditions, which almost led to it disappearing completely from the Rhône Valley. All the care it requires is largely re-warded by its undeniable qualities: aromatic complexity with fresh sensations of infusions of fruit, pure acid-ity which gives a real potential for ageing and natural elegance. Blended with Marsanne, Roussane brings the delicacy of its structure.

Collines Rhodaniennes wines
For the moment present
Light,
Fruity and
Plaisants

These wines for sharing and conviviality are the younger brothers of the prestigious appellations of the Rhône Valley. Clairmont owns vines in this area of production on terroirs of fine quality. They are located on the right and left banks of the Isère in the towns of Granges-les-Beaumont, Clérieux and Châteauneuf-sur-Isère, on terroirs of ancient alluvium, with a high proportion of smooth, rounded pebbles, as well as in the town of Crozes-Hermitage on a granite terroir.

collines Rhodaniennes

Syrah, queen of red varieties of the northern part of the rhone valley,
is accompagnied by the following white grape varieties:

Viognier,
a bouquet of intense aromas

cépage viognier

The origin of this fine white variety is difficult to determine. Was it introduced at the period around the years 50 to 125 B.C., as the historian Plutarch seems to indicate or is it a native variety? One thing is certain: we find traces of the Viognier before the Christian era. This complex grape variety of late ripening requires the greatest care. It produces white wines that can be distinguished among all others, with a bouquet of aromas calling to mind orchard fruits of this region.

Chardonnay,
round and delicious

cépage chardonnay

This fine grape variety of Burgundy origin, present in the Rhône Valley only fairly recently, has found its place for PGI (Protected Geographical Indication) Collines Rhodaniennes wines. Thanks to the surrounding mountains, it is very well acclimatised to this semi-continental climate. Planted on alluvial terraces formed by alpine diluvium, this Rhône Chardonnay produces white wines which possess complete roundness.

Sauvignon,
floral and lively

cépage Sauvignon

This emblematic white grape variety of France, present mainly in South-West France and in the Loire Valley, is also widely planted in PGI for varietal wines. Planted at the panoramic viewpoint of Méjeans in the town of Crozes-Hermitage, it flourishes on terroirs comprised of decomposed granite. Its freshness and very special range of aromas based on hints of citrus and flowers make it an ideal choice for those who love elegant, lively white wines.

Notre vignoble

Des terroirs, des crus & des cépages

Ils appartiennent au patrimoine viticole de la Vallée du Rhône
et donnent les vins de Clairmont. Découverte…

L’EAU ET LE VIN

La vallée du Rhône

La vallée du Rhône septentrionale

Le vignoble porte le nom du fleuve car c’est bien ce pli dans la terre qui le rythme, lui donne son authenticité et son point d’origine. D’une rive à l’autre, ses mouvements sont autant de signes pour comprendre les terroirs.
Le Rhône septentrional commence à Saint-Péray, en face de Valence et s’étire jusqu’à Saint-Cyr-sur-le-Rhône en face de Vienne. Situé au 45e parallèle, il profite encore d’un climat continental avec des hivers froids et des étés chauds.

Le climat comme allié naturel

Le climat, semi-continental, subit légèrement l’influence de la Méditerranée à cette latitude. Avec un bel ensoleillement annuel, des étés chauds et secs, des hivers froids sans excès et une pluviométrie modérée, le vignoble trouve dans ces très bonnes conditions un allié naturel idéal. Le vent du Nord soufflant quasi en permanence dans ce couloir rhodanien assèche l’air et protège la vigne.

Sur le rebord d’une faille

Au cours du Miocène, après le retrait de la mer Méditerranée, les différentes dépressions, soubresauts et soulèvements des Alpes ont repoussé le Rhône vers le Massif Central. Il s’est alors enfoncé sur place, a pénétré profondément le socle granitique à Vienne et au nord de Tain l’Hermitage et, avec l’Isère, a formé plusieurs niveaux de terrasses sur la rive gauche et la plaine de Valence. Ce paysage caractéristique accueillera les vignobles de l’appellation Crozes-Hermitage et IGP Collines Rhodaniennes.

Clairmont au cœur du vignoble

Depuis 1972, Clairmont est solidement implantée rive gauche du Rhône, sur la commune de Beaumont-Monteux, tout près de Tain-l’Hermitage et proche de Valence. Clairmont, acteur majeur du Crozes-Hermitage, possède 115 hectares au cœur de l’appellation située sur le 45e parallèle.

beaumont-monteux
carte Crozes-hermitage

Crozes-Hermitage
la grande

Appellation la plus vaste du vignoble rhodanien septentrional, Crozes-Hermitage couvre environ 1700 hectares sur 11 communes de la rive gauche. Fortement liés à l’histoire de l’Hermitage, les coteaux et terrasses de Crozes et de ses voisins ont gagné leur indépendance en 1937 avec une appellation en propre et des terroirs bien identifiés.

Clairmont, une diversité de terroirs
en Crozes-Hermitage

Atout primordial pour la typicité et la diversité des cuvées, les 115 hectares en propriété de Clairmont sont situés sur quatre zones géologiques distinctes.
Une première zone se trouve sur le relief en terrasses au lieu-dit Les Chassis. Elle repose sur une couche épaisse et drainante de galets roulés issus d’époques glaciaires différentes et mêlés à de l’argile rouge.
Une seconde zone est localisée sur les hautes terrasses rhodaniennes très anciennes de Chanos-Curson.
Une troisième zone, située sur les terrasses de Beaumont-Monteux, repose sur un sol sablo-argileux et d’alluvions glaciaires drainantes, très caillouteux et plus profond.
Une quatrième zone est localisée sur les coteaux granitiques de la commune de Crozes-Hermitage.

Crozes-hermitage la grande

Saint-Joseph,
l’élégant de la rive droite

Du XIVe siècle à la Révolution, le vignoble appartenait à des Carmes, religieux de l’ordre du Mont-Carmel. Le nom du cru remonte sans doute à cette époque, une statue du saint se trouvait sur le coteau situé entre Tournon et Mauves.

L’appellation commence à Guilherand en Ardèche et s’étire jusqu’à Chavanay dans la Loire. Dans sa partie méridionale, elle encercle les crus de Saint-Péray et de Cornas. Rubis et tendres, les Saint-Joseph sont les dandys du Rhône septentrional.

Saint Joseph - l'élégant
carte Saint-Joseph

Syrah
en majesté

cépage syrah

Issus d’un croisement entre le Dureza - vieux cépage ardéchois - et la Mondeuse Blanche, la Syrah trouve son origine dans cette partie du Rhône Septentrional où le climat semi-continental favorise sans excès sa maturité. Avec des terroirs maigres et très filtrants, une exposition Sud-Est ou Sud et le souffle du vent du Nord, toutes les conditions sont réunies pour que ce cépage exprime toute sa richesse : couleur intense et pourpre, arômes de fruits noirs et d’épices, tanins structurés. La Syrah signe des vins entre velouté et puissance.

Marsanne,
charmeuse et puissante

cépage marsanne

Cépage blanc emblématique du Rhône Septentrional, la Marsanne est sans nul doute d’origine locale. Elle a les pieds enracinés dans son terroir. En effet, à force de labeur et de patience, les Allobroges, peuple celte installé au IIIe siècle av. J.-C., l’avaient choisie comme variété de vigne.
La Marsanne se reconnaît à sa typique et délicate amertume. Jeune, elle séduit par son charme et ses arômes de fruits secs et de fleurs. Plus âgée, elle en impose par sa carrure et son fruité devenu sec et miellé.

roussanne,
subtile et parfumée

cépage roussanne

Autre grand cépage du Rhône septentrional, son nom vient de la couleur rousse des baies de raisins. La Roussanne appartient sans doute aussi à ces variétés de vigne choisies par les Allobroges, peuple celte installé au IIIe siècle av. J.-C..
À l’inverse de la Marsanne, elle exige une surveillance accrue en raison de sa sensibilité aux aléas climatiques qui ont failli la faire disparaître de la vallée du Rhône. Les soins qu’elle exige sont largement récompensés par ses qualités incontestables : une complexité aromatique avec des sensations fraîches d’infusions de fruits et une acidité franche qui lui donne une réelle aptitude au vieillissement, une élégance naturelle. Assemblée avec la Marsanne, la Roussanne apporte la délicatesse de sa matière.

Les vins des Collines Rhodaniennes
Immédiats,
Gouleyants et
Plaisants

Ces vins, de partage et de bonne humeur, sont les petits frères des grandes appellations de la vallée du Rhône. Clairmont possède des vignes sur cette aire de production aux terroirs très qualitatifs. Elles sont situées rives droite et gauche de l’Isère sur les communes de Granges-les-Beaumont, Clérieux et Châteauneuf-sur-Isère, sur des terroirs d’alluvions anciens, riches en galets roulés ainsi que sur la commune de Crozes-Hermitage au terroir de granite.

collines rhodaniennes

La Syrah, reine des rouges de la vallée du Rhône septentrionale
est accompagnée des cépages blancs suivants.

Viognier,
un bouquet intense d’arômes

cépage viognier

L’origine de ce grand cépage blanc est difficile à établir. A-t-il été introduit autour des années 50 à 125 av.J.-C., comme semblerait l’indiquer l’historien Plutarque ou bien est-il indigène ? Une chose reste certaine : on trouve des traces du Viognier avant l’ère chrétienne. Cépage complexe et de maturité tardive, il demande le plus grand soin. Il donne des vins blancs reconnaissables entre tous, au bouquet aromatique rappelant les fruits des vergers de la région.

Chardonnay,
rond et gourmand

cépage chardonnay

Ce grand cépage d’origine bourguignonne a trouvé sa place pour les vins en IGP des Collines Rhodaniennes. Grâce aux montagnes alentours, il s’est très bien acclimaté à ce climat semi-continental. Planté sur des terrasses alluvionnaires issues du diluvium alpin, ce Chardonnay rhodanien donne des vins blancs tout en rondeur.

Sauvignon,
floral et vif

cépage Sauvignon

Ce cépage blanc emblématique de France, présent principalement dans le grand Sud-Ouest et la Vallée de la Loire, est aussi très représenté en IGP pour les vins de cépages. Planté au belvédère des Méjeans sur la commune de Crozes-Hermitage, il s’épanouit sur des terroirs d’arènes granitiques. Sa fraîcheur et son aromatique très particulières, basées sur des notes d’agrumes et de fleurs, en font le compagnon idéal pour les amoureux des vins blancs racés et vifs.