laurence and carole
Together

A team spirit The strength of Clairmont stems from this alliance of skills, shared values and relationships.

A group + a team spirit
=

wine made together!

Our group of winegrowers has always been united and enterprising. A closely-collaborative
team works alongside us. It supports us with drive and motivation; we share the same values.
The force of Clairmont stems from this alliance of skills and collaboration.

An interview with Laurance Carat, Chairman
and Carol Lombard, Managing Director and Oenologist.

Winegrowers in the vineyards

What is the distinctive feature of Clairmont?
Laurence Carat : Undeniably, it is the fact that Clairmont is a small company on a human scale and it has family loyalty. The advantage of being a small number means that each person gets involved, listens to another person with a strong sense of solidarity between us. In each bottle, we can find the trace of all the winegrowers; nobody is able to take it easy in a little hiding place!

Carol Lombard : Clairmont, it is the strength of a group, of work accomplished together for the same aim, while respecting the wishes and characteristics of each individual.

A good wine comes first of all from good grapes. How do you manage to ensure that each of the winegrowers, without exception, produces good grapes?
LC: I am going to reply by using a cliché, but we are all passionate about our profession; we learned it from our parents who, themselves, learned it from their parents. One day, we will pass this profession on to our children. Perhaps that’s it the DNA of Clairmont: a taste for work done well and a certain family loyalty.

CL: Clairmont’s winegrowers know that they hold in their hands the key to the quality of the wines produced each vintage. It is together, winegrowers and oenologists that we work throughout the seasons of the year to obtain the very best grapes.

What importance is given to the concept of plot selection at Clairmont?
LC: Over the years, it has become increasingly important and has now become the core of our development strategy. Grapes from each of our plots, and there are a large number of them, are tasted prior to the harvests. This is an essential requisite for deciding the destination of the grapes in future wines to be produced. This is how we are working increasingly towards wines from domains that provide all the uniqueness of work accomplished by partner-winegrowers and the distinctiveness of their vineyard.

CL: Each plot is visited and the grapes are tasted several times by Clairmont’s oenologists, in order to carry out made-to-measure work. The harvest date and destination of the grapes is therefore decided plot by plot. So, the grapes are gathered at their ideal stage of ripeness and at their best potential. Grapes from the finest plots are used to make very small-quantity plot selection wines and are given special care and attention during their production.

Your first organic wines came out in 2005. What motivated this approach?
LC: The vineyard of a family working in partnership with Clairmont has been using organic methods for decades. Where other cellars would have mixed their grapes with the others, we have respected his wish to produce wines from organically cultivated domains. We have therefore extended our range and asserted even further our commitment to protecting the environment.

CL: A third of our areas under vine have been cultivated using organic farming methods since 1997! Jean-Michel Borja was one of the first organic winegrowers of Crozes-Hermitage and Clairmont is really proud about this. In 2005, we expanded our range, by proposing the first wine from “Domaine des Clairmonts” Organic Winegrowing and then in 2016 Domaine de Clairmonts released two new wines: Zen white et Zen red. We have an increasing number of young winegrowers who want to pursue the “organic” adventure.

wine press
Carol Lombard

At Clairmont and nowhere else, winegrowers are able to take part in winemaking. Why is this?
LC: Once again, the strength and resources of our small group allows us such a luxury of organisation. Taking part in winemaking is another aspect of our profession which enables us to assess the importance, complexity and complementarity of each of the stages of a wine. Quite apart from this, it also allows the team of employees at the cellar to take a little breather.

CL: Clairmont came into existence thanks to a desire for skill sharing. It is with this mindset that we continue to work today. Why should winegrowers’ involvement stop at the door of the cellar? It is their business; they are the decision-makers, as well as the participants. Some winegrowers are trained in winemaking, either by educational studies or by prior experience. It is a real resource, for them and for us, to take part in making and selling the wines! It gives a real sense of accomplishment for each one of us!
Since I have been responsible for winemaking at the cellar, Alexandre Defrance has worked alongside me; we have grown up together alongside the wines of Clairmont! As for Sundays, it is with pleasure and absolute confidence that I leave the keys to a team of winegrowers; they bestow as much care to the wines as to the grapes they watch transform before their eyes!

What importance do you give to technology during winemaking?
LC: The importance that technology should have and no more than that. We have advanced technology at Clairmont to put all the luck on our side, with no errors possible. But it there is no question of making technological wines or wines formatted to correspond to any particular trend... Respect for the raw ingredient, our grapes, remains vital, hence the precision we all ensure in our vineyards.

CL:Technology must be a way of doing things better, not an end in itself. Temperature control has enabled all winemakers to guide winemaking, particularly to obtain the most aromatic delicacy. Above all, technology has relieved people of arduous work. Even though it is sometimes a great help to improve what nature has not been able to give us in certain vintages, I remain convinced that everything takes place in the vineyard thanks to magnificent terroirs and the winegrower’s passionate touch. A fine wine is made with fine grapes!

Does the style of the wines reflect the winegrowers’ taste?
LC: : In any case, it reflects the terroirs that we hold in great esteem. I can’t remember who said “style is human”... So yes, our wines bear the mark of our work and I hope that people find our traditions in them, in the most honourable sense of the term.

tank

Team

7 active employees

MANAGING DIRECTOR

Carol Lombard

SALES MANAGER

Michel Gallière

WINE-TASTING CELLAR /PACKAGING MANAGER

Jérémy Nodin

CELLAR MANAGER

Franck Rubichon

WINE-TASTING CELLAR AND COMMUNICATION ASSISTANT

Julie Bobard

ACCOUNTING AND SALES ASSISTANT

Guillaume Dufour

PACKAGING AND WINE-TASTING CELLAR EMPLOYEE

Jérôme Arsac

Clairmont is families working together. What do you want to pass on to the young generation arriving now?
LC: Passion for our profession, the satisfaction of doing a job well, the pride of producing good wines, the pleasure of knowing that they are enjoyed by others. Continue together what we have always done together...

CL: When I arrived at Clairmont, I was 28 years old. So, I naturally received a great deal from the experience of the winegrowers and employees. Wine is a world where we exchange and pass on, it is the core of the profession. Winegrowers know their terroir well, the adjustment of grape varieties to their climate, to their soils. The most experienced carry within them the memory of a company, the decisions that were taken , the mistakes that were made, but the successes accomplished too and all of this is a great resource both for the youngest members and for other employees. They all have certain skills for which they were recruited into the team; it is important that they share these with winegrowers who do not necessarily possess the same abilities. In this way, collaboration of skills encourages the relevance of decision-making. Passing down is a way of building more rapidly and more strongly.

The clairmont team

laurence et carole
L'Équipe

Un esprit d'équipe La force de Clairmont tient dans cette alliance de compétences, de valeurs partagées et de relationnel.

Un collectif + une équipe + un esprit
=

Le vin ensemble

Notre collectif de viticulteurs est depuis toujours soudé et entrepreneur. Une équipe
resserrée travaille à nos côtés. Elle nous accompagne avec dynamisme, nous
partageons les mêmes valeurs. La force de Clairmont tient dans cette alliance de
compétences et de synergies.

Rencontre avec Laurence Carat, présidente
et Carol Lombard, directrice et œnologue.

Vignerons dans les vignes

Qu’est-ce qui fait la particularité de Clairmont ?
Laurence Carat : Indéniablement, c’est le fait que Clairmont soit une petite entreprise à taille humaine et à l’esprit familial. La force du petit nombre, c’est que chacun s’implique, écoute l’autre avec une solidarité forte entre tous. Dans chaque bouteille, on retrouve tous les vignerons, personne ne peut pantoufler en cachette !

Carol Lombard : Clairmont, c’est la force d’un collectif, du travail ensemble pour un même objectif tout en respectant la volonté et les particularités de chacun.

Un bon vin, c’est d’abord un bon raisin. Comment faites-vous pour que chacun des viticulteurs, sans exception, produise du bon raisin ?
L. C. : Je vais répondre par une banalité mais nous sommes tous passionnés par notre métier, nous l’avons appris de nos parents qui, eux-mêmes, l’ont appris des leurs. Un jour, nous le transmettrons aussi à nos enfants. C’est peut-être ça, l’ADN de Clairmont, le goût du travail bien fait et un certain esprit de famille.

C. L. : Les vignerons de Clairmont savent qu’ils ont, dans leurs mains, la clé de la qualité des vins produits chaque année. C’est ensemble, vignerons et œnologues, que nous travaillons au fil des saisons pour obtenir les meilleurs raisins.

Quelle place la notion de parcellaire occupe-t-elle à Clairmont ?
L. C. : Au fil des années, elle a pris une place de plus en plus importante pour devenir le cœur de notre stratégie de développement. Chacune des parcelles, et il y en a beaucoup !, est dégustée avant les vendanges. C’est la condition sine qua non pour décider de la destination des raisins dans les futures cuvées. Voilà comment nous allons de plus en plus vers des cuvées de domaines qui offrent toute la singularité du travail des associés-vignerons et de la singularité de leur vignoble.

C. L. : Chaque parcelle est visitée puis goûtée plusieurs fois par les œnologues de Clairmont afin de réaliser un travail sur mesure. La date de vendange et la destination des raisins est donc déterminée parcelle par parcelle. Ainsi, les raisins sont récoltés à leur optimum de maturité et de potentiel. Les plus belles parcelles sont destinées à des micro-cuvées parcellaires accompagnées, lors de leur élaboration, avec une attention toute particulière.

Vos premiers vins bio sont sortis en 2005, qu’est-ce qui a motivé cette approche ?
L. C. : Le vignoble d’une famille associée de Clairmont est en culture biologique depuis des décennies. Là où les autres caves auraient mélangé leurs raisins aux autres, nous avons respecté sa volonté de produire des cuvées de domaines bio. Nous avons ainsi enrichi notre gamme et affirmé encore plus notre engagement pour le respect de l’environnement.

C. L. : Un tiers de nos surfaces est cultivé en viticulture biologique depuis 1997 ! Jean Michel Borja fut l’un des premiers vignerons bio de Crozes-Hermitage, c’est une fierté pour Clairmont. En 2005, nous avons élargi notre gamme proposant alors la première cuvée du « Domaine des Clairmonts » AB, puis en 2016 le Domaine des Clairmonts a sorti deux nouveaux vins : Jardin Zen blanc et Jardin Zen rouge. Nos jeunes vignerons sont de plus en plus nombreux à avoir la volonté de poursuivre l’aventure « bio ».

pressoire
Carol Lombard

À Clairmont et nulle part ailleurs, les viticulteurs peuvent participer aux vinifications, pourquoi ?
L. C. : Encore une fois, la force et la richesse de notre petit groupe nous permet un tel luxe d’organisation. Participer à l’élaboration des vins, c’est une autre facette de notre métier qui nous permet de mesurer l’importance, la complexité et la complémentarité de chacune des étapes du vin. Et cela permet aussi à l’équipe de salariés de la cave de souffler un peu.

C. L. : Clairmont est née d’une envie de partage de compétences. C’est dans cet esprit que nous travaillons encore aujourd’hui. Pourquoi les vignerons devraient-ils s’arrêter à la porte de la cave ? C’est leur entreprise, ils en sont les décideurs mais aussi les acteurs. Certains de nos vignerons sont formés à la vinification soit par un parcours scolaire, soit par des expériences de terrain. C’est une richesse, pour eux comme pour nous, de participer à l’élaboration des vins. À Clairmont, comme dans un domaine, le vigneron peut participer à l’élaboration et à la commercialisation des vins ! C’est un véritable accomplissement pour chacun !
Depuis que je vinifie à la cave, Alexandre Defrance est à mes côtés, nous avons grandi ensemble avec les vins de Clairmont ! Quant aux dimanches, c’est avec plaisir et confiance que je laisse les clés à une équipe de vignerons, ils soignent d'autant plus les vins en voyant leurs propres raisins se transformer sous leurs yeux !

Quelle importance apportez-vous à la technologie lors des vinifications ?
L. C. : La place qui doit être la sienne et pas davantage, la technologie est de pointe à Clairmont pour mettre toutes les chances de notre côté sans erreur possible. Mais il n’est pas question de faire des vins technologiques ou formatés à une mode quelconque… Le respect de la matière première, le raisin, reste primordial d’où notre rigueur à tous dans nos vignes.

C. L. : La technologie doit être un moyen de faire mieux mais pas une fin en soi. La maîtrise des températures a permis à tous les vinificateurs d’accompagner les vins, notamment pour de plus belles finesses aromatiques. La technologie a surtout soulagé les hommes d’un travail éprouvant. Même si elle est parfois d’un grand recours pour améliorer ce que la nature n’a pu nous donner certains millésimes, je reste persuadée que tout se joue à la vigne grâce à de magnifiques terroirs et à la main passionnée du vigneron. Un grand vin se fait avec de grands raisins.

Le style des vins reflète-t-il le goût des viticulteurs ?
L. C. : Il reflète en tout cas les terroirs que nous respectons. Je ne sais plus qui a dit que « le style, c’est l’homme » alors oui, nos vins portent l’empreinte de notre travail et j’espère qu’on y retrouve nos traditions, au sens le plus noble du terme.

cuve

L'équipe

7 salariés dynamiques

Directrice Générale

Carol Lombard

Responsable commercial

Michel Gallière

Responsable caveau / conditionnement

Jérémy Nodin

caviste

Franck Rubichon

assistante caveau et communication

Julie Bobard

assistant comptable et commercial

Guillaume Dufour

employé conditionnement et caveau

Jérôme Arsac

Clairmont, ce sont des familles ensemble, que souhaitez-vous transmettre aux jeunes qui arrivent ?
L. C. : La passion de notre métier, la satisfaction de bien le faire, la fierté de produire des bons vins, le plaisir qu’ils soient appréciés. Continuer ensemble ce que nous avons toujours fait ensemble...

C. L. : Lorsque je suis arrivée à Clairmont, j’avais 28 ans. J’ai donc naturellement reçu beaucoup de l'expérience des vignerons et des salariés. Le vin est un univers d’échange et de transmission, c’est le cœur du métier. Quand je suis devenue directrice de Clairmont, l’une de mes premières volontés a été de dynamiser ces échanges. Les vignerons connaissent leur terroir, l’adaptation des cépages à leur climats, à leur sols. Les plus expérimentés portent la mémoire d’une entreprise, des choix qui y ont été faits, des erreurs commises mais aussi des réussites, c’est une richesse à la fois pour les plus jeunes et pour les salariés. Ces derniers ont des compétences pour lesquelles ils ont été recrutés dans l’équipe, il est important qu’ils les partagent avec les vignerons qui n’ont pas forcément les mêmes. Ainsi, la synergie des compétences favorise la pertinence des décisions. Transmettre est une façon de construire plus vite et de manière plus forte.

Toute l'équipe au complet